Ikea – a fab place to buy photo props :)

A new Ikea has opened near us and today I braved the crowds and decided to have a wander around.

I think I mentally spent over $1000 – on potential photo props. The throws, materials, kids chairs, the wooden toys, blankets, plush toys etc – were all excellent for photo props.

I’m looking forward to building up my stash of photo props. I’m a creative person who can visualise props and how they can be used. Like setting up a little children’s table and chairs, and having a cute tea set and a little girl playing with it. With maybe a teddy or favourite doll on the other chair. Or a little boy playing with a wooden train. And then catching moments of them playing, where their expressions are natural. As opposed to very posed photos.

fullscreen-capture-30112016-51158-pm

I’m definitely buying the little rocker chair, as it just so cute and can make a great prop for either a child, or a teddy/dolly etc to sit in.

I already have an idea of the type of photography I would like to offer as styles I provide – raw/organic/natural…. clean/fresh/modern (which is where Ikea comes in handy) and black and white photography – which never ages or goes out of style.

I want to offer something a little different to the styles that are popular – and will have these styles as ‘collections’ on my Website, when I set it up.

🙂

Leave a Reply

